Sometimes I believe in Six Impossible Things before Breakfast, and one of those includes making it to the movies after a two foot snowstorm

Friday it started snowing like crazy and we thought we were not going to be able to make it down for  Alice in Wonderland.  This  movie was tremendously worth all that shoveling to get out of the driveway! 

I am still a bit peeved at our school district for not cancelling the mountain schools.  They are freaking idiots I think!  I made the personal decision to keep them home.  I did not regret this decision after I saw it pile up to two feet by Saturday.  It would have been near to impossible to make it out of here Friday afternoon.   Most of it is melted and the grass is even starting to green up.  I mentioned ticks in my last post….do you think the snow can kill them?  I hope so.

Rach was home for a few days and unfortunately she got sick while she was here.  We just took her back up to school this afternoon.    We celebrated her birthday yesterday with cake and presents.  I cannot believe she is 19!   I was able to resist the cake.  I just finished reading Skinny *itch , cussing and all.   Those are sure some foul-mouthed women but they have convinced me to stop my evil ways.  Let’s see how long  this motivation lasts.  The book French Women don’t get Fat was a brilliant idea but the cheese did me in.

This week is my kids spring break…It is nice to have them home….someone to fold the laundry now.  Ha. 

Ty is going to a sleepover tomorrow so it will be quiet at night.  Kiki and Shanny are going to do something to their cameras and DS.  I will show photos.  It is all the rage in Japan and and it is called DECO DEN.  ( I hope I spelled it right)

We are hoping to get some rollerblading in as well and maybe hit a museum or something educational.   There may be some hikes if the weather stays nice.  I am just glad I don’t have to teach seminary for ten days, drive to the busstop three times a day or nag Ty to get his homework done.  I love Spring Break even if we don’t go somewhere exotic.

I hope everyone is enjoying Spring!  I am crushed for time and I have to go get  the RS Birthday cards sent out ASAP!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lindalou
    Mar 21, 2010 @ 23:21:12

    We just saw Alice in Wonderland last night and I really enjoyed it. I’m usually not a fan of Tim Burton films, but I was pleasantly surprised. Therefore I loved the title of your post!

    Reply

  2. Marnie
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 14:12:12

    Haven’t gotten to Alice yet. Snowed hard here Friday nite and Saturday but the temps got up in the 50’s Sunday and melted all the snow. Hope that is the last we see of it.
    Marnie

    Reply

  3. Meredith
    Mar 23, 2010 @ 03:11:17

    Our district DID cancel school on Friday and it didn’t really start piling up here until about 4pm–which is when my last kid arrives home for the day. I’m sorry your superintendent is an idiot. I think that about ours a LOT. Ha!

    What do you teach at seminary???

    And do you have any good ideas of things (free to cheap) to do close to your side of Denver? (west side, I guess?) I’m meeting a friend from Longmont on Thursday and we need a meet in the middle place with something to occupy our kids for a couple of hours. I was thinking a park or something but neither of us knows that area very well. Ideas???

    Reply

  4. cpollen1
    Mar 23, 2010 @ 17:39:43

    Hi Meredith,

    I left you a message on your blog but I am not sure if I was much help!
    Yes, BVSD seems more worried about costs than safety!
    I teach Seminary to my teenaged daughter,( the scriptures/gospel ) every weekeday at 5:30. Our church has seminary but we would never make it down for that so I get to teach her at home. I sometimes wonder what I signed up for!

    The museum is pretty cheap….

    Rosey

    Reply

Leave a Reply

