Awaiting Spring

Photobucket This weekend we got a big, fresh batch of snow.  And this is how our springtime typifies itself in Colorado.  During the spring cleaning frenzy that goes on in my house,  I dug up  a vintage Choral book I bought a few years ago.  It dates back to 1888…times were different back then.( Not that I am an expert on the 1800’s or anything.)   The music  was ethereal and very poetic and unabashedly obsessed with nature.   I liked this song by F. Blangini.  It it called Return, O Brooklet and it really says how I have been feeling about winter lately.  I am so ready for spring and flowers and picnics.  How about you?

Return, return, O brooklet

Send us thy stream’s soft flowing;

The south wind gently blowing,

Bids ice and snow depart:

Once more, O playful wavelets,

In limpid freedom glancing,

Once more in gladness dancing,

Oh hurry to the sea……

Once more in gladness dancing,

Oh hurry to the sea,

Dance on, dance to the sea,

Return, return O brooklet,….

 

Photobucket

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meredith
    Feb 27, 2010 @ 03:25:04

    Spring?

    I’m sure it will arrive at some point. I’m awaiting it’s arrival as well.

    Reply

  2. Stephanie
    Feb 27, 2010 @ 05:33:44

    Gosh that big ice wig he he… having fun with snow?

    Yup hope that spring will return soon for you and your family.

    Reply

  3. Gayle
    Feb 28, 2010 @ 05:07:22

    I am like, oh how lovely and sweet as I read and see the snow on the fence. Then I see The Head. What the…??

    Reply

  4. Gayle
    Feb 28, 2010 @ 05:09:08

    I just realized, perhaps you have a touch of cabin fever and winter has been going on a little too long…

    Reply

  5. donna
    Feb 28, 2010 @ 15:10:07

    Oh……..a picnic. Now THAT sounds devine. I luv to eat outside.

    donna

    Reply

Leave a Reply

