Fourteen Days of Love, Day 10

Some people love dogs.  I mean they REALLY love dogs.  I am going to be harsh here and say that I am not really too fond of dogs.  They scare me sometimes.  Small dogs are okay but still not my favorite.  I know I mentioned cats already in my Fourteen days of love but I have to say I also  love♥ birds.  We used to have some noisy parakeets in our house but they bit the dust a few years earlier.  I still find bird seed in the corner where they used to have their cage.  (That shows how much I love housekeeping.)  I  have six feeding locations for the outside birds this winter.  I would love to get more variety of birds but I am still content with the sparrows, bluejays, juncos, nuthatches, woodpeckers, and some other birds that remain to be identified. 

The other birds that I love that hang out around here are the owls, and the hawks.   The hawks will swoop right over us  when we are outside in the yard…someday I will have a camera handy when it does.   And we can see owls if we hike in the early evening in the summer in the woods across from us.  I  know that some people frown on this, but I pick up the  hawk and owl feathers when I find them I also love the hummingbirds.  My goal this summer is to catch  a decent photo of one in my garden.. 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marnie
    Feb 10, 2010 @ 20:46:14

    I love your bird photos. I pick up bird feathers outside too. If we ever get caught with them, they will probably fine us big time:(

    A few years ago, I remember sitting outside and watching the redtailed hawks teach their youngsters to fly around my house. Around and around they went and one of my cats was sitting in my lap. Every time the hawks would fly low the cat would growl. It gave me goose bumps.
    Marnie

    Reply

  2. lindalou
    Feb 10, 2010 @ 23:09:41

    There as a cardinal in my neighbor’s yard today and against all the white snow it looked amazing. I couldn’t get a photo cause my camera doesn’t zoom enough. Love the picture of the bright blue bird. Very cool.

    Reply

  3. Gayle
    Feb 11, 2010 @ 04:23:04

    I adore the birds as well. Wow, you really have the bird feeders! How do people get such wonderful shots of birds I don’t know. Bird watching is just so peaceful don’t you think? How can you feel stressed and watch the birds, you just can’t do it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

