Tearjerker Book

I just finished crying my way through this book, Same kind of different as me.  It was an inspiring true story and  I am glad I took the time to read it.   Some people at church told me about it.  I have been trying to read literature that uplifts and teaches me something valuable.   This book is going on my favorites list!  And as I was searching for the images on google I discovered that there is a movie in the making!   Of course, the movie is NEVER as good as the book, but I will still look forward to it. 

So, now the real reason of why I haven’t blogged, I have been reading!  And driving all over the place. 

We watched Secondhand Lions again.  Love that movie!  I love the part where they are hoeing in the garden and discover all the seeds they planted are corn,  and they got ripped off by the door- to-door salesmen.  And then when they sit down to eat that corn, many months later, they look like they are in heaven , chowing down.  Good stuff! 

Family wise,  more colds,  more basketball,  root canals, flat tires, lego camp,  snow, but everything is pretty good!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gayle
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 23:42:00

    I’m always looking for a good book, I’ll have to check it out.

    Reply

  2. Marnie
    Jan 29, 2010 @ 17:02:32

    Thanks for the book recommendation. I’m always looking for new things to read.
    Marnie

    Reply

  3. Jodi Hughes
    Jan 29, 2010 @ 17:16:35

    Hi cpollen1,
    Thank you for mentioning “Same Kind of Different as Me” on your blog! I work with Thomas Nelson, and we would love to follow your blog and hear what readers think of this moving book. I also want to let you know that Ron and Denver have just released a new book “What Difference Do It Make?” which updates readers on their activity since the first book came out. Please contact me with your mailing address if you are interested in receiving a complimentary copy of the new book for review on your site at your convenience.

    Thanks!

    Reply

  4. Meredith
    Jan 30, 2010 @ 03:28:15

    I read that book this summer…on a plane ride home from Arkansas. It was very good. My husband and I lived in Fort Worth for 4 years while he was in seminary…it was fun to recognize the landmarks/places that they mention in the book. I cried my eyes out reading it though b/c the cancer part hit so close to all I was dealing with in regard to my dad.

    I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    Have a great weekend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

