No Frills Fun And Sushi

Photobucket

With all the new gadgets being invented nowadays, not many people actually sit down and play a game together, do a jigsaw puzzle or just sit and talk one on one with each other.    I am afraid that the vast amount of games we have in our basement will crumble from misuse.   We started doing puzzles this holiday and did about five during the Christmas break.   It was very calming and relaxing and gave me a chance to have time to chat with my kids, without the distractions of t.v., computers and music.   Some people in our family, and they shall remain nameless,  refused to get involved in such old-fashioned activities. (ahem, you know who you are.)

Photobucket

Two of my daughters are really into Asian culture  and wanted to try Sushi again.  I decided I would not be a wimp and try it as well.   Am I going to hell in handbasket if I say it’s disgusting?  Everyone raves  and seems to be very fond of this foul food.   Cold rice is the last thing I want to eat.   I am more of a bread girl. A potato woman.  And I will even eat most fish.  But not COLD! 

Shanny liked the Sushi, and my husband tolerated it.  But I couldn’t finish even one piece.

About the bread,  I made my first Brioche. It  was a pecan-cinnamon version.  And I was supposed to lose weight this year.  I did send in 3/4 of it to my husband’s co-workers.  They ate it all so that saved me some calories.  I was suprised at how long it took to make…at least four hours all told.  But worth it.  I will have to save the recipe for special occasions. 

Photobucket

Yesterday was the dreaded gum surgery day.  I want to say, it was horrible.  And the effects of the painkiller made me want to puke.  And this is just the beginning.  I paid good money to feel like crap.  I get to have a root canal next.  The best thing about all of this?  Shanny helped me make chocolate pudding…yet another diet buster…. but it was superb!  The boxed pudding is not even in the same category!  Well worth every stir!   I did not take a picture, darn it, but suffice it to say,  I hid the last bit in the fridge for myself today.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kanak7
    Jan 07, 2010 @ 17:07:55

    Hi Rosey,

    Happy new year! Thank you for stopping by my blog. It’s my first time here and I like it! It’s nice to know about the game/jigsaw puzzle time with your family. We no longer seem to (be able) to have that kind of family time. Everyone’s so involved with their own thing. My two sons are aged 18 and 15.

    Being an Asian, I’m a rice person but cold rice is something I can’t stand! I’ve never tasted sushi!The thought of losing weight is always at the back of my mind but…..!!!:( I hope you’re feeling a little better today. I’ve had a root canal done and ugh, it’s terrible!

    Would love to be back again…Cheers!!

    Reply

    • cpollen1
      Jan 10, 2010 @ 02:57:03

      HI,
      when your kids get that age, it’s nearly impossible to find time or inclination. My oldest daughter who is 18 as well, humors me and plays. I know she would rather be facebooking or talking to her boyfriend on the phone though. 🙂
      Rosey

      Reply

  2. Marnie
    Jan 07, 2010 @ 17:09:25

    I agree, some of the old games, puzzles, etc are the best anyway IMHO. I love to do crossword puzzles. Haven’t done a jigsaw in years but I enjoy them. I love to sit down with the kids and play games too. Video games just don’t interest me.

    You called it right on the sushi too. Cold raw fish, ICK! I can eat pickled herring but sushi, NO.
    Marnie

    Reply

    • cpollen1
      Jan 10, 2010 @ 02:47:50

      Marnie,
      Someone told me that I shouldn’t buy sushi at the store… and that I should try it in a restaraunt before I judge. So I guess I can’t say it’s nasty. I haven’t tried pickled herring before.
      Rosey

      Reply

  3. Meredith
    Jan 07, 2010 @ 18:40:46

    I love games and puzzles, but it’s getting harder and harder to get my kids to sit down and play with us. Makes me sad.

    I love sushi. LOVE it. Never tried making it though. I’m afraid it would be super expensive if I ruined it.

    Reply

    • cpollen1
      Jan 10, 2010 @ 02:50:37

      Meredith,
      Sometimes when the power goes out, we get more participation. Not that you want your power out but sometimes we have so much fun!
      Rosey

      Reply

  4. Andrea
    Jan 07, 2010 @ 20:49:32

    I agree with you on the sushi. Hope your mouth heals fast.
    You’ll have to share your pudding recipe. Sounds good.

    Reply

  5. Gayle
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 03:42:46

    What a wonderful idea to do puzzles together. Hey if the kids will be content with it, go for it! I think it is terrific! I feel for you with the dental work. I had mine work done in September and it was truly awful. I’m with you, I choose bread over cold rice any day. Your dessert looks incredible. Four hours though…

    Reply

  6. mygreenfinder
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 04:36:33

    Those sushi looks good and yummy 😀 Good job to your girls 😀

    Reply

  7. lindalou
    Jan 14, 2010 @ 16:09:19

    Hi Rosey,

    First…so sorry about your gum surgery and root canel. It must be awful. I can’t take pain killers either, they just make me nauseous as well.

    I’m a fan of puzzles as well, although it’s been a while since I’ve done one. Maybe after we get Caity’s baby shower invites done I’ll start a puzzle and maybe Mikey will even join me for a little.

    Add me to the don’t like Sushi list. Don’t get the appeal, but both daughters LOVE it.

    Reply

  8. CJ
    Jan 19, 2010 @ 16:42:36

    Rosey! I LOVE your new blog! Why did you switch, though? I tried WordPress @ one time & didn’t like it.

    I agree, you def. need to try FRESH sushi. Then again, I love sushi & will tolerate the supermarket kind, but it does not compare to restaurant fresh.

    Sorry to hear abt your surgeries & hope you feel better soon. Maybe the root canal anesthesia will be more “fun” -at least it was for Garrett ;P

    Puzzles & games! Love them. And isn’t there always one person (yes, we know who they usually are, lol) who doesn’t like to play? I’m looking forward to when my kids are a little bit older & can participate in more than Mousetrap, Chutes & Ladders, & 100 pc puzzles etc 🙂

    Reply

    • cpollen1
      Jan 20, 2010 @ 18:27:46

      Just trying to learn something new… I am still blogging on blogger with my other gardening blog. I have not completely made the transition. I like the variety that blogger offers but I also like the way I can moderate and reply to comments on wordpress. Loading photos is not so fun on WordPress though.

      Thanks for your comments.
      Rosey

      Reply

Leave a Reply

