Happy New Year!

  I am thinking long and hard about what I want to carry out this year.    When I was growing up, my dad would print out these papers that asked things like what we did that year, our favorite foods, weight, favorite books, personal information and then what some of our goals were.   Now, I do the same for my kids and have been glad to keep that tradition.    I don’t like the question about our height and weight,  because that is a shocker.   I guess one of my goals is to lose twenty pounds.  I have not been trying very hard!  That’s what I love about the new year, the potential is there to try again.   Another goal I am going to work on is more volunteer work at my son’s school and at church as well.  I have made all sorts of excuses and none of them are practical anymore.  

What are some of your resolutions  and/or goals for this year?  

 Since one of my goals is to eat better this year,  I thought I would share a recipe that steers me in the right direction. One of the best things that I discovered to eat recently is Baked Kale.  Yes.  Baked.    I got it out of the cookbook my mom gave me for my birthday.( Mollie Katzen Vegetarian cooking)  It was strange, because my neighbor who is uber fit told me that baked Kale was good and I  just shelved that tidbit of info.  Then the cookbook had the actual recipe and I tried it last night and  it was so good, I am planning on growing lots more Kale this year!   Even Ty ate it!  But my girls  are scared of it.  Silly.  They are missing out!

Recipe:  Baked Kale Chips

1 # washed, de-stemmed Kale, minced. ( use organically grown if you can find it)

olive oil

350 degrees,  fifteen minutes, approximately,  bake on foil with oil drizzled over.  You may add Parmesan Cheese, if desired.  Eat plain or as a topping on anything!   It is  very crunchy!

  

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lindalou
    Dec 31, 2009 @ 20:13:54

    Happy New Year to you as well.

    One of my New Year’s resolutions is to never make resolutions. Too much pressure.

    I saw Jacques Pepin prepare baked kale once on TV and it looked delicious. All crunchy. Thanks for reminding me about it. I will have to try this in the near future.

    Reply

  2. Marnie
    Jan 04, 2010 @ 22:05:38

    I need to start eating more healthy food too. I’m terrible for stopping for deli food which tastes great but is loaded with fat and preservatives. I did get my cholesterol down which I’m very proud of.
    Marnie

    Reply

  3. Gayle
    Jan 05, 2010 @ 04:40:23

    I am going to try it! Sounds just like Pioneer Woman’s recipe for asparagus. Just drizzle olive oil, put some salt on it and bake it. It is good also.
    I have indulged shamelessly over the entire holiday so it is back to better eating for me this week! I took a tip from Delights of the Heart and have a one word theme for the new year. My word is “blessed”. I am blessed. I will look for that in my life and be thankful. We’ll see how I do!

    Reply

  4. Amber
    Jan 07, 2010 @ 05:22:41

    I am ashamed to admit I had kale for the very first time last month. Is that recipe just healthy or tasty, too? 🙂

    Reply

    • cpollen1
      Jan 07, 2010 @ 15:34:09

      Amber,
      I happen to find it very tasty! I hate bitter greens and this was a good way to enjoy kale. I used to make a green juice out of kale before I killed my juicer and I haven’t been eating as many greens.

      Reply

  5. JoAnne
    Feb 03, 2010 @ 22:01:40

    That sounds so yucky. I tried kale last year and barf-a-roni. More power to you.
    We still do Dad’s tradition as well. I call it our “all about me” forms. Do you often re-read them? We have only once and it was a riot.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

