Christmas Morning Ebelskivvers

I believe this is a Scandinavian recipe.  My mom gave us the pan many years ago and  we have just made it a tradition to have these Christmas morning.  A delicious pancake, so to speak, drench it in syrup and you are good to go.  Jam is also good with these tasty morsels.   

My girls surprised me Christmas morning by wearing festive outfits, make up and jewelry so I could take photos of them in clothes other than pj’s.   Let’s just say that the guys were not too happy about the idea of changing out of comfy thermals and sweats.   But they were good sports and went along with it. 

The best thing about this Christmas was my Amaryllis blooming exactly on Christmas day.  Virtually no effort for such beauty. 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meredith
    Dec 27, 2009 @ 22:15:31

    Oh, I’ve had those ebelskivvers before. My friend who is from the Midwest made them for us one New Year’s Eve. We GORGED ourselves on them…so good!!!

    Hope you had a Merry Christmas!!!

    Reply

  2. lindalou
    Dec 27, 2009 @ 22:33:58

    Those pancakey things look delicious and I love your family picture. How nice that everyone got dressed up. Caity and I wore our pj’s all day, but I did put on makeup and do my hair, although we didn’t take any pictures. All the new cameras were under the tree still. (yeah..I got my new Nikon 3000 for Christmas.)

    Reply

  3. Marnie
    Dec 28, 2009 @ 19:40:04

    I had never heard of ebelskivvers but they sound good. This area of Illinois was originally settled by Swedes so I thought we had tried just about every Swedish food imaginable;)

    Your amaryllis looks beautiful. I have one in the same pink and white colors that I love.
    Marnie

    Reply

  4. donna
    Dec 30, 2009 @ 23:08:20

    Your son looks so dang cute in that picture…..uncomfortable all dressed up, but very cute. Good looking family, especially the mother. Oh, that’s you, isn’t it?

    Now I feel compelled to google ebelskivvers.

    Happy New Year to you, wonderful CO blogging lady.

    Reply

  5. JoAnne
    Feb 03, 2010 @ 21:58:43

    I so remember those and thinking it was such a treat growing up. I didn’t know you inherited the pan…that’s cool that someone is using it.
    Nice blossom.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

