Tradition!

An old favorite. This reminds me of staying up until five in the morning watching with Amy H. when I was in Junior High. Everyone was obsessed with Fiddler on the Roof for about a year. Last night the orchestra played a Fiddler on the Roof song at Shanny’s band concert and I had to get my fix today! Thank goodness for Youtube!
Every family has traditions and even more so at Christmas, Hannukah, Kwanza etc. We like to do gingerbread people and houses, play games, the giving tree at church, let the kids draw names so they can give each other presents, play Bing Crosby, read special stories, just to name few.
What are your traditions?  And do you even know when they began?  I like it in the beginning of Fiddler on the Roof  when Topol is talking about how they keep their heads covered and wear prayer shawls to show respect for God and that they are always thinking of him.   And then he goes on to say he doesn’t even know when that tradition started!   Surely this classic musical is worth a second look?  Maybe I will start this tradition of watching Fiddler on the Roof every December.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andrea
    Dec 09, 2009 @ 22:36:17

    love that show!
    Our traditions are changing and forming with trying to figure out what to do with our little family on our own. What we want to keep or change from before.

    Reply

    • cpollen1
      Dec 10, 2009 @ 16:26:19

      Hello Andrea,
      It’s so fun when your kids are little and they still get excited around Christmas! I don’t miss putting bikes together though. 🙂
      Rosey

      Reply

  2. Marnie
    Dec 10, 2009 @ 14:38:32

    I have seen the show in bits and pieces. I never seem to have a chanced to watch from beginning to end.

    Love the previous post. How exciting. I bet you can’t let your cats or dogs roam outside unsupervised.
    Marnie

    Reply

  3. lindalou
    Dec 10, 2009 @ 16:05:47

    Some of our old traditions are Holiday music while decorating the tree. Making and decorating Christmas cookies is another. Watching White Christmas is a real favorite. My sister and I do our own version of “Sister…sisters, there were never such devoted sister.” Not good, but fun.

    And Love Actually has been added to the must see Holiday movies. It gets me on so many levels. Watched it last week-end and got all choked up for Liam since he became a widower in real life as well as in the film. Just so touching.

    Reply

    • cpollen1
      Dec 10, 2009 @ 16:18:06

      Hi Lindalou,
      Fun traditions!
      I got a bit teary eyed watching Love Actually. The necklace segment was heart wrenching!
      I don’t think my kids have seen White Christmas, I will have to do something about that!
      Rosey

      Reply

  4. Gayle
    Dec 19, 2009 @ 14:18:04

    Have a great 40th year! Blessings,
    Gayle

    Reply

Leave a Reply

