Lurking Bobcats

PhotobucketI know it’s just the rear end view of a bobcat.  But it added some magic to our Sunday.   It was freezing cold.  It was snowing.   And I was fixing some grub. ( toast and cocoa and scrambled eggs. )   The bobcat was spotted by Norm.  He is usually the one to see these things first.   The bobcat wandered through the backyard.   It lifted up it’s leg and peed on the Juniper bush. Then it sniffed around  the bush and grabbed a frozen squirrel carcass and commenced eating it behind the bushes.   I can’t even imagine how hungry it must have been to eat frozen meat.   But it stayed there for ten minutes or more. 

After it got done eating, it came back to the same spot where it found the frozen squirrel and looked for more frozen delights.   Then after finding nothing,  it looked at us, and walked briskly up the mountain.  I tried to get a picture but my camera is not the best, and I am not the best photographer.   The last time a bobcat came to our house, I ran outside and confronted it and took a quick shot.   This time around, I did not feel  comfortable doing that.  This guy was not little!  And why do I suppose it was a male?   Perhaps it was the peeing on the bush?  It was larger than other bobcats we have seen in the past.  Since we can’t have indoor cats,  I count this as our neighborhood cat.  And I hope it eats more voles and squirrels in the future.  Heaven knows we have enough of those in the garden!

Photobucket

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andrea
    Dec 08, 2009 @ 19:21:31

    What a great place to live!

    Reply

  2. Gayle at Mountain Moma
    Dec 09, 2009 @ 16:47:44

    Wow, how exciting! Love the pic with the snow. Aren’t you lucky to have snow at wintertime.

    Reply

  3. Meredith
    Dec 19, 2009 @ 14:11:43

    A bob cat is NOT the same thing as a mountain lion, right? If you say yes, I’m going to be SCARED!

    Hey…I’m just now adding your new blog to my reader. I’m so sorry it’s taken me so long.

    Merry Christmas. Your sugar cookies are beautiful…and are making me hungry! 🙂

    Reply

    • cpollen1
      Dec 20, 2009 @ 16:10:20

      Hi Meredith,
      No, they are not the same type of cat. A mountain lion will eat your pets if you leave them outside! ( or you for that matter!)
      Rosey

      Reply

Leave a Reply

