Life is a splendid gift, ~Florence Nightingale

On Friday I went to the funeral of a man that goes to our church.    The outpouring of love for this man was simply amazing.  I think funerals can really get you thinking about your life and how you are living it.  

My daughter Kiki  was sleeping over at friends house and also stayed after school to help out with a fundraiser.  She called me at 1:30 in the morning to say she was sick.  I was expecting this call,  because in the past, she always gets sick at this certain friends house.  It could be  her dog allergy.  They live about twenty minutes away, so I put on something other than my pj’s and headed out.  When I arrived, she came outside and told me she had vomited in their bathroom just a few minutes before.   Ugh….I was thinking,  here we go.   We made it home without incident.  I am wondering when the rest of us will feel cruddy. 

I  get  to have gum surgery in January.   A good excuse to eat ice cream, I guess.   The dentist appointment on Monday was just one disaster after the other.  I should have gotten dentures when I was twenty.  I am just thankful that my kids got some good teeth genes from my husband.  He has never had a root canal in his life.   I am the queen of crowns.  I just wish our dental insurance was decent.  As it stands, we will be spending a small fortune on this piehole of mine. 

We worked on the driveway yesterday.  It was starting to look like a jeep road, with all the summer rains, it has gotten terribly washed out.   My back and arms are feeling it today.  My husband says, ” it let’s you know you are alive.”

It’s true. I am alive, despite my teeth, arms and back hurting.   And my life is a gift from God,  which I am so thankful for.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. keatsthesunshinegirl
    Nov 09, 2009 @ 00:05:35

    yes,whilst weeping for loved ones, i never fail to ponder about my own life and how to be a better person:))
    Live life and be happy and good!

    Reply

  2. Marnie
    Nov 09, 2009 @ 14:27:28

    Funerals always give me a lot to think about too. So final. Hope your daughter feels better and you all don’t get sick.
    Marnie

    Reply

  3. lindalou
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 18:16:47

    Hope your daughter’s illness was short lived and doesn’t spread around the house. I know we’ve had enough of that for a while as well.

    I haven’t heard the term “piehole” in a long term. Hope your piehole doesn’t hurt too much.

    Reply

  4. JoAnne
    Nov 11, 2009 @ 03:49:25

    I love this post. We have so much in common.

    Reply

  5. Gayle at Mountain Moma
    Nov 12, 2009 @ 16:29:34

    Oh, I feel for you with the dental work! I had mine all the month of September. Sounds like your attitude is positive and that is half the battle of anything.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

