The Doctor In The Pink Shirt

100_7831When Shanny got off the bus yesterday, she showed me her finger and I thought she had purple marker or ink on it. But it was actually an injury she received in P.E. playing basketball.  She did not want to call me at school and tell me about it because she did not think I would think it was all that bad of an injury.  I was mad at her for not calling. I admit, I got a little panicky.  But, we did not know if she had broken her finger or not.   We drove down to Boulder and finally found the Urgent Care and waited several hours for an X-ray and a doc to take a look.  Let me tell you about the doctor.  He was extremely chipper, wore a pink shirt and khakis and kept referring to Shanny as “sweetie pie” and “honey-bun” and talking really fast.  It was all I could do to not crack up laughing at my daughter’s reaction to him.  He told us that her finger was NOT broken and she needed to wear a splint for 10 days and let it heal.  A lot more info was given but it was mostly to the effect of “growth plates” , “orthopods” and “arthritis” . My short attention span brain is a sieve.  We finally got home around 8:00 P.M and ate some soup and toast, since we skipped dinner.  Shanny noticed I was having some discomfort while waiting for the doctor to see her,  and I have to admit it was really bad gas.  Later on she said something that I am still gigging over:  ” You should eat some of that spanish herb that helps with inflatuation.”   She did not even know why I was laughing so hard.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dorothy
    Nov 05, 2009 @ 17:33:34

    That is soooo funny!! Leave it to a kid to come up with something like that!!

    Thanks again for visiting my lowly blog! It must be heaven to live there in Colorado. I have always wanted to go there and finally got to do that in 2007. I loved it and didn’t want to leave!

    Reply

  2. Marnie
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 15:30:32

    LOL, don’t know if inflatuation is a good or bad thing, but I’d stay away from those Spanish herbs;)
    Marnie

    Reply

  3. Amber
    Nov 07, 2009 @ 18:26:48

    Soooooooo funny!

    And I love your new digs!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

